Award for critics

The Essential Reading for Art Writers Award

The Essential Reading for Art Writers Award is an initiative of the Institute of Contemporary Art-Sofia. This annual award is conceived as a tool of encouragement for those who actively write about contemporary art; for those who through their activities push the development of critical thinking; for those upholding the sense of responsibility and ethics in the public debate thus contributing to the formation of art audiences, to the expansion of the understanding of art, to the reinforcement of its stand and position in the life of society. Within the art scene this award is meant to raise the symbolic status of writing on contemporary art. The material expression of the award is a book, which aims to emphasize the fact that access to professional literature on contemporary art is still a problem in Bulgaria.

For the sixth time this year the Essential Reading for Art Writers Award, an initiative of the Institute of Contemporary Art – Sofia, was presented.

The 2018 award is presented to Stefka Tsaneva.

For the fifth time this year the Essential Reading for Art Writers Award, an initiative of the Institute of Contemporary Art – Sofia, was presented. Former recipients of the award are Boryana Rossa (2007), Daniela Radeva (2008), the author of the internet blog 'Nothing Personal' (2009) and the editorial team (Petya Alexandrova, Nina Venova, Lyudmila Dimova) of LIK Magazine (2010).

The 2012 award is presented to Vladiya Mihaylova – art critic, theoretician and contemporary art curator.

Тази година за четвърти път бе връчена наградата „Избрана литература за пишещите за изкуство (Essential Reading for Art Writers)" – инициатива на Института за съвременно изкуство – София. Досега носители на наградата са Боряна Роса, Даниела Радева и автора на блога „Нищо лично".

Наградата за 2010 се присъжда на екипа на списание ЛИК (Петя Александрова, Нина Венова, Людмила Димова).

For 2009 the award is the book “Institutional Critique and After” (papers from the SoCCAS Symposia in 2005; Paperback Edition, JRP/Ringier 2006; Authors: Andrea Fraser, Isabelle Graw, Jens Hoffmann, Renee Green, Hans Haacke, Monica Bonvicini, Mike Kelley, John Searle, The Yes Men and John C. Welchman, Editor) and it is awarded to the author (or authors) of the Internet blog “Nothing Personal”.

The winner for 2008 is Daniela Radeva.

The winner for 2007 is Boryana Dragoeva-Rossa.

Visit us

  •   134, Vasil Levski Blvd. (entrance from Ekzarh Yosif St.), 1504, Sofia , Bulgaria
      Open: Tuesday – Saturday, 3 – 7 pm and by appointment
      Get directions

Contact us

  • +359 2 8466261
      This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
      Subscribe to our channel
      Become a Fan
    Follow us
      Subscribe to Our RSS Feed


We use Mailchimp to send regular newsletters to our audience.

By subscribing, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. More about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.